Office of the President logoOffice of the President logo

Media Release


November 24, 2021

Fiji’s High Commissioner to Australia, Mr. Luke Daunivalu, on behalf of the President of the Republic of Fiji, today conferred the Officer of the Order of Fiji and Fiji's 50th Anniversary medals, in Canberra.

At the investiture ceremony held at the Fiji High Commission premises in Canberra Australia, the 50th Anniversary of Independence commemorative medals was awarded to Dr. Jagdishwar Singh, Mr. Gregory Yee, Mr. Mohammed Yunus, Mr. Dean Noor Rahmat and Mr Robert Lyon received the insignia for Officer of the Order of Fiji medal, in recognition of their outstanding service and contribution to Fiji’s national development.

High Commissioner Daunivalu was honoured to represent Fiji’s Head of State at the investiture ceremony to acknowledge the dedication and exemplary service of the Fijian nationals for their selfless and extraordinary service to Fiji.  

The investiture ceremony is testament to the Fijian Government’s commitment for recognising the efforts of Fijians for their great contributions to nation building and contributions in the international arena and keeping with the ‘Culture of Inclusivity and Appreciation’.

The recipients of the commemorative medals expressed their appreciation for the support provided by the Fijian Government, families and friends in Fiji and around the world.

In 1995, the Fijian Government instituted the order of Fiji to recognise achievements or meritorious service by citizens of Fiji and, occasionally, as honorary appointments, by non-citizens.